New Classroom

I FINALLY get to start school tomorrow!  I.  Cannot.  Wait.

I’m beyond excited for my new classroom, but I’m even more excited to see it full of students tomorrow and for all of the great math that will happen here this year!!

If you see something you’re interested in, and I haven’t included the file, comment and I’ll add it.

Here’s the outside of my door.  The welcome sign is from Sarah and can be found here.  After going to training this summer from Sara Van Der Werf, I was inspired to make one for my own school.  Here’s her post on the math badges.

img_0015

 

This is on the other side of my door.  I saw this on Twitter I think and ended up changing some of the fonts.  I also read this post, and again changed up the font for the quote.  You can find the files for these here, along with other posters found in this post that I’ve made or edited from others in the #MTBoS community.

img_0014

 

When you walk in the door, this is what you see.  🙂  I just love it!  I already joke that I live at school, but now I’m really not going to want to leave.

img_0013

 

View from the front.  The posters above the cupboards are these from the same blog post from Rock Star Math Teacher as the Yet posters.  The cupboards, shelves, and storage behind my desk are a work in progress.  I’m waiting until I start using things during the year to decide where the best places for things are.

img_0019

 

When I finished this today, I felt like I was ready to start school.  I don’t know why, but setting up a weekly calendar for homework was one of the first things both times I’ve set up a classroom.  These are the road sign posters above the calendar.  (Red posters on the right: This is the top poster, and this is the bottom one from Sarah Carter.)

img_0017

 

In the back corner of the room, I’ve got a version Sarah Carter’s perfect Square and Cubes posters.  I had seen this post before Sarah blogged about the ones she made, and that font with the dots stood out to me.  I ended up finding a similar font and added it to the Publisher file from Sarah’s post.  I also liked what Math by the Mountain added, so I added my version of that.  The #mathfail sign and my version of the perfect squares and perfect cubes posters are also found here.

img_0007

 

I’ve also got my #mathfail bulletin board thanks to Sara Van Der Werf.  You can find lots of pictures on her blog.  Here’s part 1, and part 2.

img_0011

 

Sarah Carter’s place value posters.

Screen Shot 2016-09-11 at 8.44.05 PM.png

 

Here’s a view from that back corner.

img_0012

 

Here’s a view from my desk in the back.  I haven’t done clothesline math before, but I’m envisioning it between those two things that jut out by the windows.  And those windows!!  Love them!  The blue and yellow posters back there are my version of Sarah Carter’s “Mistakes are” posters.  You can find my version here.

img_0002

 

And here’s another view from my desk.  I LOVE all of the whiteboards they put in for us!!  I’m excited to try some #VNPS with them!

img_0001

 

Leave a Reply

