Mathematics is the study of patterns.

This summer I was crazy fortunate to spend several days learning from Sara Van Der Werf. If you’ve ever heard her speak or even been around her for more than 30 seconds, you know what a huge blessing that was!  SO much of what I’ve done these first few days and things in my classroom are either from her or a result of something I’ve learned from her this summer or her blog.

One of the things that Sara continued to bring up in her sessions was that math is the study of patterns, and that mathematicians notice patterns, describe patterns, and generalize patterns.  In my notes from one of her sessions I have written down that one of the things she tells her students related to this is that powerful people notice patterns, describe them, and generalize them.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This idea kept coming up over the summer, and I knew I wanted to make a poster for my classroom with that on it to remind myself of this so that I can stress this idea to students.

Sara said she’s got a blog post on this topic, so let’s hold her to it and make sure she blogs about it soon!

 

The files for the poster are here.  The poster is 24″ x 18″.  I printed it from Vistaprint.  If you use the Publisher file, you will need the fonts KG Life is Messy, KG Dancing on the Rooftop, and KG When Oceans Rise.

 

Leave a Reply

