One Good Thing: “I think we need to clap for that.”

I really enjoy reading Rebecka Peterson‘s posts over on the One Good Thing blog.  It’s encouraged me to look for my own good things after a tough day.  Today’s was easy.

Last week in one of my classes we played “Mathketball”  (I think most people call it trashketball.)  A student made the comment that we should play “Mathket-war”.  I said if someone wanted to create the game, we could play this week.

IMG_5266

I honestly had forgotten about that conversation until Tuesday.  A student walks into my room and hands me a piece of paper,  “Here are the rules for mathket-war.”  Then, “And here are the cards for it.”

IMG_0077

Yes, one of my students spent Memorial weekend creating mathket-war.  I wish I had a picture of my face when she shared this with me.  She told me her older sister who is in one of my other classes helped check her math for the problems.  Yet another reason I love this -her sister helped her out.  As an only child, I LOVE to see siblings get along.

Today she read the rules to the class and showed them the cards.  This was out of this girl’s comfort zone, but she did a great.  Hearing the other students appreciate what she had done was good for her.  They were excited she created this so they could play it and were impressed with all the work she had done.

At one point another student made a comment suggesting something that should happen in the game.  She replied, “Just wait.  That’s in the bonus points.”  She truly thought of everything.

When she finished a student raised his hand, “I think we need to clap for that.”

And they did.  🙂

Leave a Reply

