Twitter: More than Just a Place to Steal Resources

Yesterday I shared some of my favorite Tweets from the 2016-2017 school year.  They were mainly of things I want to remember to use/steal for next school year.  That was why I first got involved on Twitter.  I was looking for great ideas to steal from others, but as I was going through Tweets, I started realizing how much getting involved on Twitter has helped me as a teacher beyond the resources I find to use in my classroom.  I realized that my “Twitter Friends” not only make me a better teacher through the resources they share, but they also encourage me.  They help me see that I’m not the only one that has days where I question what I’m doing.  They validate those feelings and encourage me to keep going.  They remind me that the work we do as teachers is so incredibly important, even when we don’t feel like we’re making a difference.  They also challenge me to think critically about my teaching.  That was an added bonus of getting involved in the #MTBoS that I didn’t know would happen when I was first looking for stuff to steal.

So here are some of those Tweets.



Here are a few Tweets that have made me think about my teaching.


It is also encouraging to see that other teachers have lessons that flop, don’t have great ways to teach concepts, or still don’t fully understand some of the concepts we’re supposed to teach.  More importantly, it’s a great reminder that it’s ok to admit those things and ask for help.


So thanks MTBoS for becoming so much more than just a place to go to steal resources.

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

